Popular Characters From Movies and Their Probable Sun Signs

Growing up, I was fascinated by the intriguing world of astrology, sun signs and palmistry. I rummaged through the old pages of Cheiro that my father had bought years ago to learn more about ‘myself’. Why am I talking about astrology all of a sudden? Well, it’s simply a thought that came to my mind the other day. I love movies and some touch me in ways that I take days, even weeks to get the characters out of my head. So, how about identifying the traits of some of my favorite characters and guessing what sun sign they could’ve been. Still with me? Good. Now, some of these characters may have birthdates. But that’s not the point. The idea is to review the traits of some of my favorite/not-so-favorite characters and align them with probable zodiac signs.

So, here we go.

Lester Burnham (American Beauty)

Having watched American Beauty for some 70 times, I remember almost all the lines from the movie. One of my closest friends, who’s also an American Beauty fan, by the way, tells me that every time she watches this movie she learns something new. I cannot help but agree. What makes it so unforgettable is its characterization and the man who tells us the story is Lester Burnham.

Now let’s see what we can know from his characteristics. When the movie begins, he’s a friendless, unpopular guy. Someone whose company doesn’t leave an impression and whose absence doesn’t make any difference. Later of course, he turns into someone anybody stuck in a monotonous routine would be able to relate to. He quits his job, takes risks and ends up doing some rather impossible/improbable things.
I think Lester is a Taurean. A Taurus guy is usually described as the strong and silent type. He probably won’t even present his true self to the world before taking it by surprise. Precisely, what Lester does once he lets his hair down.

Theodore Twombly (Her)

I’m still unsure if I liked this movie or not. But there’s no doubt in my mind that Joaquin Phoenix’s Theodore Twombly is one of my favorite characters from the movies. He’s shy, introverted and deeply emotional (P.S. Kind of man I’d normally avoid in real life, but I digress). I loved the scenes where he pens letters for people who can’t express themselves or perhaps don’t want to. He is someone who fails to connect with people around him but finds himself falling in love with his OS.

All these qualities make me wonder if he is a Piscean. Pisces are born romantics and veritable loners. They don’t find loneliness alarming rather they derive pleasure out of it. Plus, they are creative and Theodore’s heartfelt letters provide ample evidence that he’s a creative man too.

Scarlett O’Hara (Gone with the Wind)

I’ll be honest. Linda Goodman herself likened Scarlett to the fiery Aries women. So nothing I write here will be absolutely original. She’s my favorite nevertheless. So, I have to include her in the list. Anywhere, here’s my two cents. Unlike the perfect female protagonists of those times, Scarlett is surprisingly real and even a flawed character. Perhaps, that’s what makes Gone with the Wind such a timeless classic. It doesn’t preach, doesn’t give us a damsel in distress and a knight in shining armor. The central protagonists are conceited, disreputable people, facing real dilemmas and moral crises. And that’s precisely why I find Scarlett more relatable than say Elizabeth Bennett.

Now the Aries qualities that Scarlett possesses. Throughout the narrative, she makes decisions that make her look selfish and narcissistic. Most Aries are derided for the exact vices. They can’t think beyond their needs, it is said. In their defense, Aries are like overgrown kids. You can’t call a child selfish, can you? It’s more or less same for the Aries folk. They think about themselves first, but calling them selfish is overly harsh. Remember, Scarlett’s toils to keep her father’s legacy (Tara) alive?

So, what’s your sun sign?

